English Learners (EL)

Modesto City Schools serves approximately 30,000 students and 25% of those students are English Learners. Our District has the privilege and responsibility of ensuring that all multilingual students become proficient in English and master the academic content required of every student in California.

The goal for all English Learners (ELs) is to become proficient in English and grade-level standards in all subjects.

English Learners are provided instructional support as they acquire English fluency while mastering grade-level standards. The instructional supports are:

  • Daily English Language Development (ELD) standards-based lessons differentiated by the students’ language levels in order to support each EL student as they develop English language proficiency as rapidly and efficiently as possible.

  • Specially Designed Academic Instruction in English (SDAIE) are specific instructional strategies that ensure that the content of each lesson is understandable to EL students and provide access to grade-level standards regardless of the student's English proficiency level.

Maricela Mota
Director II, English Learner Services
Mota.Ma@mcs4kids.com
(209) 574-1629

Brenda Martinez
Staff Secretary II, English Learner Services
Martinez.Br@mcs4kids.com
(209) 574-1629

Guadalupe Lara
Dist DLA Coord PK-12
Lara.G@mcs4kids.com
(209) 574-1629

Rudy Urias
Coord Newcomer Prog & Support
Urias.R@mcs4kids.com
(209) 574-1629

Miguel Ascencio
Bilingual Community Aide
Ascencio.m@mcs4kids.com
(209) 574-1629

Veronica Hernandez
Bilingual Community Aide
Hernandez.Va@mcs4kids.com
(209) 574-1629

Mayra Martinez
Bilingual Community Aide
Martinez.Mayr@mcs4kids.com
(209) 574-1629

Mayra Quinonez
Bilingual Community Aide
Quinonez.M@mcs4Kids.com
(209) 574-1629

Solange Rocha
Bilingual Community Aide
Rocha.S@mcs4Kids.com
(209) 574-1629

Marilu Villasenor
Bilingual Community Aide
Villasenor.Ma@mcs4kids.com
(209) 574-1629

Paula Valbuena Leon
District Translator & Interpreter -Spanish
(209) 574-1629

Assessment Center Staff

Veronica Chaidez
Administrator of Special Projects
Chaidez.V@mcs4kids.com
(209) 574-1590

Mimi Brockmann
Staff Secretary II, Assessment Center
Brockmann.M@mcs4kids.com
(209) 574-1590

Elvia Juarez
Assessment Center Technician
Juarez.E@mcs4kids.com

Celina Villegas
Assessment Center Technician
Villegas.C@mcs4kids.com

Yolanda Salgado
Assessment Center Technician
Salgado.Y@mcs4kids.com

Rouy Chhoeung
Data Technician
Chhoeung.R@mcs4kids.com

EL Instructional Coaches

Elizabeth Derieux 
Job-Embedded Professional Development Coach, ELD
Derieux.El@mcs4kids.com

Rochel Hesse
Job-Embedded Professional Development Coach, ELD
Hesse.R@mcs4kids.com

Amanda Langston
Job Embedded Professional Development Coach, ELD
Langston.A@mcs4kids.com

Erika Manriquez
Job-Embedded Professional Development Coach, ELD
Manriquez.E@mcs4kids.com

Nancy Meier
Job Embedded Professional Development Coach, ELD
Meier.N@mcs4kids.com

Erika Mugica 
Job-Embedded Professional Development Coach, ELD
Mugica.E@mcs4kids.com